Warner Bros. Records to Release Two Brand-New Tracks From Built to Spill


Warner Bros. Records to Release Two Brand-New Tracks From Built to Spill on July 10, 2007

Boise, Idaho Quintet on Tour in the U.S. Through September

BURBANK, CA–(Marketwire – June 28, 2007) – Warner Bros. Records will release two reggae-flavored tracks — a brand-new song titled "They Got Away" and a cover of The Gladiators' "Re-Arrange" — from Boise, Idaho quintet BUILT TO SPILL on July 10th. The tracks will be available from online retailers as digital downloads and in stores as a 12"-vinyl single. The single will also be on sale on tour dates after July 10, listed below, while supplies last.

The two tracks — the first new music from BUILT TO SPILL since their 2006 album "You In Reverse" — were recorded last year while the band was on tour in support of the album, which was recently re-released, along with 1997's "Perfect From Now On" and 1999's "Keep It Like A Secret," in limited edition vinyl. Songwriter/guitarist/vocalist Doug Martsch explains that reggae is not necessarily the new direction that BTS is headed. "'They Got Away,' came out of jamming. This one jam just took on a life of its own, it evolved over time. We were reluctant to do a reggae song but we started to really like it. We figured it's a good reggae song, might as well run with it." Doug further explains the recording process of the tracks: "Dave Tromfio (producer/mixer – Wilco, Ok Go) recorded it very stripped down, close to the live versions, no overdubs, only the overdubs of the effects. We just happened to stumble upon a reggae song that we couldn't not do. I want to make sure that people don't think we are becoming a reggae band. We play reggae because we love to play it."


Built to spill re-release vinyl

Warner Bros. Records to Reissue Three Limited Edition Vinyl Albums From Built to Spill in Late May
Beloved Boise, Idaho, Quintet Launch North American Tour on June 30

BURBANK, CA — (MARKET WIRE) — May 09, 2007 — Warner Bros. Records will release limited edition vinyl reissues of three albums — 1997's "Perfect From Now On," 1999's "Keep It Like A Secret," and 2006's "You In Reverse" — from beloved Boise, Idaho, quintet BUILT TO SPILL in late May. Only 2,000 copies of each LP are being pressed.

The reissues will be released on regular-weight vinyl in two-LP sets, with "You In Reverse" in a gatefold sleeve featuring artwork from Mike Scheer, Karena Youtz and Tamara Shores. This is the first time "You In Reverse" will be available on vinyl, while "Keep It Like a Secret" and "Perfect From Now On," which have both been remastered, are back in print on vinyl for the first time on Warner Bros. Records, having originally been released by Up Records. "Keep It Like a Secret" will include the bonus track "Forget Remember When," a b-side from the album's recording sessions. "Perfect From Now On" will include the bonus track "Easy Way," a never-before-released song from the album's recording sessions.

BUILT TO SPILL — which currently includes Martsch, bassist Brett Nelson, drummer Scott Plouf, and guitarists Brett Netson and Jim Roth — will launch an extensive North American tour on June 30th in support of "You In Reverse," their first album in five years, which was released last April to critical acclaim. Rolling Stone praised its "action-packed jams and expansive tune sense," while Spin noted its "unique, virtuosic musicianship." The band are currently touring Europe, their first trip there since 2000.

For more about BUILT TO SPILL, please visit their website www.builttospill.com